Acatenango 2-Day Hike: Small Group or Shared?
Shared 2-day Acatenango hikes against groups capped at 6, 8, 15 or 24: what the group size changes on the climb and at camp, what it costs, and which listing caps it.
Group size is the one thing the cheapest 2-day hikes leave open: Volcano Expeditions’ shared hike gives no number, and one of its low reviewers counted about 30. If a big, slow-moving group would spoil the climb for you, book a listing that caps it. Acatenango Experience VIP’s Small-Group Acatenango Hike and Eruption-View Cabins stops at 6 hikers to a guide and pays the park fees, from US$170 a person when two or more book (checked November 2026).
Pick two adults on the calendar to see the US$170 price. On 10 December 2026, 20 January, 17 February and 10 March 2027, one adult booking alone paid US$295 (checked November 2026). 27 November 2026 had no availability.
What a big group changes

On a shared hike everyone climbs at the pace of the slowest walkers, and the breaks are set for the whole group. In the 350 newest reviews of Volcano Expeditions’ hike (8 May to 7 November 2026), 7 of the 35 low ones with text describe long waits and a slow pace on the way up; one French reviewer counts about 30 people in the group, and another says the group was never split up. Reviewers of the bilingual Tours & Activities SA tour report bigger groups still: four low reviews from March 2026 count 37, 50 or more, and 72 people.
A big group also means more people per guide. The most common complaint in the low reviews of Volcano Expeditions' hike, 19 of the 35, is about the guides: hurrying slower hikers, or explaining little.
Which hikes cap the group
| Hike | Group | From | What else |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2-Day Acatenango Volcano Hiking Adventure (Volcano Expeditions) | Shared; size not stated | US$57 | Hotel pickup, a dome bed; guide in Spanish |
| Acatenango Volcano Overnight Tour (Tours & Activities SA) | Shared; size not stated | US$90 | A bilingual guide, an A-frame cabin |
| Two Day Hiking Tour to the Acatenango Volcano (Experience GT) | Up to 24 | US$135 | The entrance and warm gear included |
| Overnight Adventure Hike Acatenango Volcano (Brothers Expeditions) | Up to 15 | US$115 | All sales final, no refund for cancellations |
| Acatenango with Overnight Stay by 4WD + Glamping (Silverbacks Experiences) | Limited to 8 | US$430 | A 4WD most of the way up, then about 40 minutes on foot |
| Small-Group Acatenango Hike and Eruption-View Cabins (Acatenango Experience VIP) | Limited to 6; 1 guide per 6 | US$170 for two or more | Private transport, park fees, a cabin; guide in English and Spanish |
GetYourGuide checked November 2026; Viator checked November 2026.

Pick by what matters to you
Antigua: Small-Group Acatenango Hike & Eruption-View Cabins
Acatenango Experience VIP: no more than 6 hikers to a guide, private transport, park fees, three meals and a cabin with a mattress and sleeping bag. Guide in English and Spanish.
Check dates →From Antigua: 2-Day Acatenango Volcano Hiking Adventure
Volcano Expeditions: hotel pickup, a dome bed, three meals and a lent jacket, gloves and hat, in a shared group of unstated size. Guide in Spanish.
See the hike →Antigua: Acatenango with Overnight Stay by 4WD + Glamping
Silverbacks Experiences: a 4WD to a parking area high on the volcano, about 40 minutes on foot to a glamping tent, park and farm fees paid, at most 8. Guide in English.
See the trip →Prices, ratings and review counts from the listings (GetYourGuide checked November 2026; Viator checked November 2026). Operators price by date and season, so treat the figures as the shape of the market, not a quote.
What the small group’s own reviews say
Acatenango Experience VIP’s hike has 19 reviews on GetYourGuide, 14 of them five stars. Three give three stars or fewer: in June 2026 a couple who had booked for an English-speaking guide got one who spoke Spanish and found the pace too quick, and in October 2026 a reviewer says the group was not woken for the summit when the rain stopped. The third has no text.
Before you book
CONRED restricted the ascent of Acatenango on 4 August 2026, during an eruption of Fuego; operators were selling dates in November 2026 when we checked. Check CONRED and INGUAT, Guatemala’s tourism institute, before you go. The small group is not for children under 13, people with altitude sickness or people with a low level of fitness.
More from Antigua
Tours from Antigua with Open Dates
Volcano hikes and other trips from Antigua with live availability. Pickup, what is included and the cancellation terms show before you book.

Six Hikers to a Guide
Acatenango Experience VIP's 2-day hike: private transport from Antigua, park fees paid, a cabin with a mattress and sleeping bag, and no more than 6 in the group.
Check small-group dates